Message sent from:


What do school governors do?

The governing body’s function is both to support and challenge the school to provide the best possible education for all its pupils.  This is carried out in many ways including working closely with the Head teacher and staff both in formal governors meetings and informal discussions; evaluating the schools progress through results data scrutiny, and observing the school in action by joining assemblies and other school celebrations.  The governing body is also required to ensure that the school complies with its legal obligations.  All of the governors are unpaid volunteers who give up their free time and bring a wide range of skills to help make this school a wonderful nurturing environment to be in.

There are currently vacancies on the Govenring Board for 1 Parent Govenor and 2 Foundation Govenrors. If you are interested in becoming a school governor, please contact Michelle McCann, Clerk to Governors, for more information via: michellemccann@stmarymags.brighton-hove.sch.uk 

St Mary Magdalen's School Governing Body

Name Role Term of office Appointed by Original appt date
Lauren Atallah Local Authority Governor, Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee 12/06/2017 - 03/10/2025 Local Authority 01/09/2013
Derek Dray Foundation Governor 10/10/2016 - 09/10/2024 Diocese 04/12/1997
Margaret McHugh Foundation Governor, Chair of Governors, Chair of Finance and Resource Committee 21/11/2015 - 20/11/2023 Diocese 21/11/2011
Christina Bamin Parent Governor 01/09/2019 - 31/08/2023 Elected by Parents 01/09/2019
Agnieszka Creed Parent Govenor 01/09/2018 - 31/08/2022 Elected by Parents 01/09/2018
Andie Wilson Head Teacher 03/01/2017- Member by virtue of office 03/01/2017
Gemma Nunes Staff Governor 04/05/2021-03/05/2025 Elected by Staff
(Vacancy) Foundation Governor   Diocese

Governor Roles in other schools - Lauren Atallah is an Education and Management Consultant for Academies such as the United Learning Trust.

In the past 12 months we have also had the following members on our governing body: 

Name Role Term of office Appointed by Original appt date
Kate Fryer Foundation Governor 15/02/2016 - 14/02/2020 Diocese 13/10/2014
Katherine Hoare-Exley Foundation Governor 03/03/2016 - 02/03/2020 Diocese 29/02/2012
Tim Watson Parent Governor 15/02/2016 - 14/02/2020 Elected by Parents 15/02/2016
Mina Mikhael Parent Govenor 01/09/2017 - 20/07/2021 Elected by Parents 01/09/2017
Caterina Spampanato Staff Governor 30/11/2016 - 29/11/2020 Elected by Staff 30/11/2016


Annual Governor Reports

Chair of Governors -Margaret McHugh

Head Teacher - Mrs Andie Wilson

Parent Governors -

Foundation Governors -

Staff Governor -

Local Authority Governor - Lauren Atallah

Hit enter to search